![]() |
Ruling
I thought this was a poor ruling but Im interested in what others have to say about this.
6 way action to the flop which comes out. The SB apparently doesn't do anything, but the BB THOUGHT he pounded the table for a check so the BB checks, limper 1 checks limper 2 checks limper 3 checks limper 4 checks.... SB announces wait I didn't act yet...and bets out I complain and say that he can't take that long to announce that he hasn't acted yet as 5 players all checked already and a floor is called over. Floor asks the dealer if he saw SB check he said he's not sure, BB says neither is he but obviously he acted bc he thought he checked. Floor asks SB if he checked and SB says no. Floor says ok if he didnt check then he gets to act.. I complain that my point isnt whether or not he checked (he didnt for all i know) I was just complaining that he didnt announce hey i didnt check until ALL 5 other players had acted... he now has information about everyone in the hand and now decides to bet. Floor disagreed w me and I thought it was clearly the incorrect ruling Other opinions? |
You are correct - the ruling was wrong.
It was the SBs responsibility to watch the action and say that he didn't check right away. Once the THIRD player checks (The guy after the BB), at that point, it's too late. CERTAINLY by the time 5 players check, it's too late. At least that how I would have ruled if I was the floor. I mean, what if player 4 bet and player 5 raised? Would he still be able to say, "No no, I didn't check. I want to bet." And then what happens top Player 4 and 5s money? That's just ridiculous. Bad ruling. |
yea thats shananigans:rolleyes:
|
I agree... I think the problem is WHERE to draw the line. I think the line was CLEARLY crossed when all 5 remaining players acted... you seem to think that once the 3rd player acts thats it which seems reasonable to me.
|
I'm not sure exactly where the line is drawn. It's probably: "within a reasonable amount of time" - which clearly, waiting for 5 players to act is not.
|
I would say incorrect ruling as well.
I would say it also depends on the timing of things. How long was it from the flop until he spoke up ? Was he paying attention ? At most I would say once 2 check after his turn it is too late for him to bet. |
It starts and ends by hiring floor staff with balls. That is why theses BS situations occur way too often.
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:01 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2004-2008 TalkingPoker.com